top of page

When life gets in the way: 11 months in Asia


When I first started this blog, I was pretty optimistic about how much time I would have to post life updates. From working a full-time job (and a couple part-time ones thrown in there, too), to my family and friends visiting, to several trips - for both work and fun - I've barely been able to keep track of my own itinerary. It feels like every time I start to settle into my life in Saigon, something happens to shake things up. I'm starting to yearn for a routine and some mundanity in my life. But, that's not what I signed up for.

Giving 'thanks' in Southeast Asia

I was lucky enough to have my parents and older sister visit me for Thanksgiving - their flight landed as most families in the U.S. sat down for their annual turkey-day feasts. I showed them around my city for a few days, and they even got to meet my coworkers. Then, we jetted off to Hoi An and Hue for some culture. Both destinations are common stops for tourists in Vietnam and didn't disappoint. Hoi An feels like a fairytale with its ancient yellow buildings and narrow, tree-lined streets. Hue has a calming, relaxed vibe, and the Citadel is fun to explore for a few hours.

The week after my family left, my colleague and I flew up to Hanoi for a work trip. It was my first time in Viet Nam's capital city and I wasn't sure what to expect. Saigon is a bustling Asian city - it's the New York of this country. Hanoi is quiet and understated - at least in comparison to where I live. There's wonderful French architecture and two beautiful lakes. Outside of our work obligations, my coworker and I got to catch up with some friends who live in the city and explore. We also attended a reception hosted by the U.S. Ambassador honoring our fellowship program. It wasn't a bad way to see Hanoi, to say the least.

Not even two weeks later, we were back in Hanoi for work. That was a more brief visit, yet was still a nice change of pace from Ho Chi Minh City. Saigon is full of energy. It's packed with people to meet, places to see and motorbikes to dodge. But, Hanoi has a livable charm, coupled with plenty of personality and tasty eats. One of my favorite things is to walk around Hoan Kiem Lake on a weekend evening - the streets are blocked off for pedestrian use and you can just wander through the crowd of thousands that flocks there regularly. There are dance battles, eclectic musicians, toddlers on tricycles, roasted chestnuts and kitschy night markets.

The road to Sagada - and other Filipino adventures

For Christmas break, some friends and I went to the Philippines. After spending just a few weeks there, I've decided that it's possibly one of the world's most underrated travel destinations. The country boasts diverse landscapes, ranging from breathtaking mountains to islands surrounded by limestone cliffs. People are friendly in a way that's hard to describe - they're quirky, inquisitive, mysterious and chatty. The Philippines feels more like Latin America than Asia. Colonization and the Catholic influence have seeped into the country's culture in fascinating ways.

In the Philippines, we tackled an ambitious itinerary that I would only recommend replicating if you have at least three weeks in the country. From Manila, we drove to the Spanish colonial town of Vigan in Luzon. After that, we braved the narrow, winding, terribly paved mountain roads to Sagada. After a day of exploring caves and braving some near-death experiences, we headed down to Manila to catch our flight to paradise, also known as Palawan. Our time on Palawan, one the Philippines' many islands, was the antithesis of our adventure in Luzon - we actually relaxed. For the majority of the time, we stayed in El Nido, though we also camped on an island for one night and I spent a day in Puerto Princesa. The limestone cliffs on the island's shores are picturesque and the vistas are stunning.

Traveling in the Philippines is no easy feat, but it's well worth the pot-hole ridden roads and lack of wifi. Stay tuned for a more detailed post on our ridiculous adventures.

2017: The year so nice I started it twice

Vietnam, like China and some other Asian countries, has traditionally followed the Lunar calendar. Lunar New Year is usually celebrated in late January or early February every year. During Tet (Lunar New Year), Vietnam basically shuts down. Even my favorite bun cha spot closed its doors for the holiday. A friend from college weaseled her way out of work and came to visit during my two-week Tet break. We opted to travel through Cambodia and Thailand. Using a mix of buses and planes, we visited Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, Chiang Mai and Pai. I had been to Phnom Penh and Siem Reap 12 years ago on a family vacation, so it was incredible to see how different both cities are now. Siem Reap is packed to the brim with tourists, even more so than when I was 10 years old, and there's a vibrant downtown area. My mom didn't believe me when I told her about how built up the city has become.

During our time in Chiang Mai and Pai, Thailand, we took advantage of the abundant nature in the region. In Pai, a little mountain town that's become a hippie and backpacker haven, we rented a motorbike and spent a few days exploring the water falls, canyons, and vistas outside of town. During the night market one evening, we also stumbled upon my friend's favorite food - a Sichuan noodle dish she's only ever had while visiting family in China. The woman serving it was ethnically Chinese and spoke Mandarin, but had grown up in Thailand speaking Thai, and was also Muslim. My friend quickly befriended her and we went back to have her noodles at least three times.

Chiang Mai was a much bigger city than I anticipated. It's also easy to navigate, which made it ideal for a quick visit. The city has a plethora of great street food and cafes. And, of course, lots and lots of pagodas. To make our Thailand experience complete, we visited an elephant sanctuary and chilled out at a local music festival before catching our flight back to Saigon.

We covered a lot of ground in two weeks and were exhausted by the time we got back to Saigon. But, all the adventures were well worth the crazy bus rides and budget airline flights.

Spring is for... more traveling?

I spent most of February and March in Ho Chi Minh City, but these past few months have been a whirlwind of trips. My mom and cousin came to visit in April, so we explored Hanoi, Halong Bay, and Sapa. I then popped over to Taiwan for a few days to hang out with some friends, and absolutely fell in love with the country. Don't be surprised if I move there sometime soon. Just a few weeks after that, my friend and I took an incredible nine day trip to Myanmar. And, just last night I got back from the Philippines for work. I'm hoping to do some more detailed posts about some of these trips, so keep an eye out for updates.

It's surreal to think that I only have a few months left of living in Saigon. Just one year ago, I was at orientation for my fellowship program and graduating from college. Now, I'm trying to sort out my post-HCMC plans. I didn't have to think twice when I accepted my job in Vietnam. I knew it was the right thing to do. Though this year has presented all kinds of challenges - some I expected and others I never could have anticipated - I've never looked back. Taking (calculated) risks and just saying "yes" is a good life philosophy, at least for now.

bottom of page