top of page

Settling in: the truth about living abroad

Living abroad ain't easy.

But, it's not nearly as difficult as some - including myself circa June of this year - may imagine it to be. I'm also working in an office in a rapidly developing metropolis located in a relatively safe and friendly country. So, I offer a pretty narrow viewpoint. One thing I think may ring true no matter where one is living, though, is that getting into a routine makes things feel normal. And, dare I say it - mundane.

The office that my alley is on, which has become an integral part of my daily routine in Saigon.

The first few weeks I was here, just walking down my street to get a cup of coffee sucked all of my energy. I had to dodge motorbikes speeding through my alley while balancing on narrow sidewalks and slipping between food carts. I was exhausted all the time. After a few weeks, though, I fell into a routine. Navigating banh mi stands and miming my way through conversations has become my norm. I'm extremely grateful for the opportunity to live and work in Viet Nam, but it's not nearly as wild or exciting as I anticipated. That's not a bad thing, either. I'm really enjoying building a life, a routine even, in a new city and culture. I'm not sure where I'm going, but each day I know I'm moving forward.

These past few weeks haven't come without a slew of challenges. I had a mysterious allergic reaction, smashed my toe and had to visit a doctor, dealt with a flat tire on a country road, lost my debit card, and my phone was stolen, among the usual daily hurdles. I've definitely experienced the pressure of living in a foreign culture. But, I've never felt like jetting back to the U.S. would solve anything. I'm also pretty sure that living in an American city as a young professional would come with its own trials and tribulations. That's just life. And, I'm unusually lucky because I get to live abroad - something that countless people dream of doing but are unable to.

This weekend, I visited friends in Phang Nga, Thailand (stay tuned for more in a post coming soon). Phang Nga is a small town about an hour away from Phuket, a huge hub for tourists. It's tucked away in the mountains and only a short drive from the beach. The fresh air and natural beauty afforded me a much needed change of pace from Saigon. At times, though, I found myself missing the city - my city. Coming back to my house, my alley, my office, my favorite coffee shop, and everything else that makes up my funky life here felt a little bit like coming home.

bottom of page