top of page

Weekend wandering

​I have officially been in Saigon for one month. In some ways, it feels like I've been here much longer. And, in others, I still feel like I'm fresh off the plane. During the week, I don't have much time to do more than go to work, cook, go to the gym, and maybe hang out with friends one or two evenings. So, I've used my weekends to explore this city that I now call home.

Saigon is split into districts, much like Paris. I live and work in the main area - District 1. It's easy to get caught up in the conveniences of this neighborhood. It has countless of street food stalls, markets, shops, cafes, museums, and parks. But, there's so much more to the city than its center. District 5 has a bustling Chinese market, the canal runs through District 3... the list goes on.

Exploring the "Brooklyn of Saigon"

This weekend, I expanded my palate and made the trip up to the Thao Dien neighborhood in District 2. A friend of mine lives up there, so she and I explored her area. My friend calls it the "Brooklyn of Saigon" because it's full of hip restaurants, bars, and shops, and is a bit removed from the craziness of District 1. We stumbled upon an antique store that doubles as a high tea room, a photography studio, an art gallery that's also a bar and co-working space, and several cute stores we could never afford on our nonprofit salaries.

Now, let's talk about the food. We decided to pay for an overpriced American-style brunch that totally hit the spot. As much as I love Vietnamese food, there's nothing like an omelette with toast at noon on a Saturday. Over the next few hours, we split a pitcher of Sangria, ducked into a bar and drank beers to get out of a torrential downpour, tried the Vietnamese version of french fries (not very impressive, honestly), and ate sauted noodles at roadside restaurant for dinner. By the evening, we weren't even that hungry -- the food all just looked really, really good, and we couldn't resist.

Tackling District 1 On Foot

I started my Sunday by going to the gym, which happens to boast an incredible view of the canal and the sprawling city. What began as a fairly low-key day turned into more than seven miles of trekking through HCMC's concrete jungle. Post-workout, I decided to treat myself to some Anthony Bourdain-approved noodle soup at "The Lunch Lady." Her soup was heartier than your standard street food, and was loaded with several different types of meat and rice noodles. It was served with fried spring rolls and crunchy tempura-style shrimp.

I used my post-lunch energy to walk to the riverfront and find Station 3A, a spot I found on Facebook and have been meaning to visit. Station 3A is tucked away in a small alley in downtown Saigon. It's filled with graffiti, art galleries, and shops filled with handmade crafts. Though I only did some window shopping, it was fun to stroll through stores. The area was filled with millenials snapping photos in front of the murals - a sight that reminded me of visiting downtown D.C. during the height of tourist season. Station 3A represents a young, creative side of the city that seems to be growing rapidly.

I slowly made my way back to my house by allowing myself to stop in any store or scour any alley that seemed appealing. Per usual, I got caught in a late afternoon downpour right as I was making my way through the heart of HCMC. The rainy season goes until October or November, so I'm teaching myself to accept random rainstorms as a staple of life here. The sun was setting as I walked through Le Van Tam Park - children were playing badminton, old men were walking along the paths, and ladies were ballroom dancing in gazebos. The scene in the park illustrated one of my favorite things about Saigon: despite its high energy and bustling streets, people understand what it means to slow down and experience life.


bottom of page